In Need of a Rideshare Accident Lawyer?

At Waddoups Law Personal Injury Attorneys, we recognize the unique challenges in determining liability during a collision with an Uber or Lyft vehicle, and our Salt Lake City rideshare accident lawyers are here to guide you through this complex process.

The complexity of these crashes and fault often stems from the vehicles being owned or leased by the driver and used for ridesharing services rather than being a vehicle provided explicitly by the rideshare company. The motorist’s role as a rideshare driver will dictate which party’s insurance coverage can be pursued for our client’s damages. Our Midvale rideshare accident attorneys can help you make that determination so you fully understand your legal rights and options to pursue a complete claim.

We believe in focusing on our clients to help them physically, emotionally, and financially recover after an accident. We understand that when another person or party’s negligence changes your life, you need a team of personal injury attorneys in your corner.

Our personal injury attorneys in Salt Lake County operate as your team and want to deliver much-needed relief through our compassion, attention to detail, and tenacious advocacy.

Once you partner with our Utah personal injury law firm, you can rest easy knowing your team has represented clients in more than 1,200 mediation/arbitration cases and over 85 jury trials with tremendous success. Let us use our over 90 years of combined experience to help you and your family confidently move forward.

Contact our Salt Lake City rideshare accident and injury attorneys today to learn more during a free consultation.

Understading the Rideshare Accident Law in Midvale & Salt Lake City

Is the Driver or the Rideshare Company Liable for My Accident’s Damages in Utah?

Understanding the distinctions between rideshare driver and rideshare company liability is crucial for injury victims to ensure they hold the proper party—or combination of parties—liable in the event of an accident.

When the driver is “off the clock,” which means not logged into the rideshare app or not actively seeking ride requests, the driver’s personal auto insurance policy is in effect. The rideshare company’s insurance coverage does not apply when the driver is not logged into the app.

This means any accidents that occur while off the clock are handled solely through the driver’s auto insurance.

Utah law mandates that auto insurance policies provide the following:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
  • $80,000 per accident for bodily injury (changing to $90,000, January 2025).
  • $15,000 per accident for property. (changing to $25,000, January 2025).

Utah’s no-fault law also requires drivers to purchase a minimum of $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. PIP is a broad term for the coverage that will pay for your medical expenses, wage loss, and household services in case of an accident.

From there, rideshare driving can be divided into three steps:

  • Step 1: App On, Waiting for a Ride Request.

During this period of time, the driver logs into the rideshare app and waits for a ride request. The rideshare company’s insurance typically provides limited liability coverage.

Uber & Lyft provide liability coverage of $50,000 per person for bodily injury, $100,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage.

  • Step 2: En Route to Pick Up a Passenger

During this period of time, the driver accepted a ride request and was on the way to pick up the passenger. The rideshare company’s insurance usually provides higher coverage, including liability, comprehensive, collision, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Uber, Lyft & DoorDash provide $1 million in liability coverage and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage.

  • Step 3: Passenger Onboard

During this period of time, the passenger is in the vehicle, and the ride is in progress. The rideshare company’s insurance continues to provide extensive coverage similar to Step 2, including $1 million in liability coverage and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage.

If the driver is at fault, the rideshare company’s insurance will generally cover the damages to passengers, other drivers, and property.

In another scenario, a third-party motorist who is not the rideshare driver may be liable for our client’s damages. This is why speaking with a skilled rideshare accident lawyer in Midvale today is critical to ensure your legal rights are protected, and you have access to all financial recovery options available for your unique circumstances.

What To Do Immediately After a Rideshare Accident in Utah

If you are involved in a rideshare accident in Utah, you should take several essential steps immediately to ensure your safety, comply with legal requirements, and protect your rights.

They include:

  • Ensure Your Safety

Immediately check yourself, your passengers, and others involved in the accident for injuries. If anyone is injured, call 911 for emergency medical assistance.

  • Contact Authorities

Report the accident to the police, regardless of the severity. A police report is essential for insurance claims and legal proceedings. Remain at the accident scene until the police arrive and you have provided your statement.

  • Exchange Information

Exchange contact and insurance information with the other drivers involved in the accident, even if you are the rideshare passenger. Obtain their names, addresses, phone numbers, driver’s license numbers, license plate numbers, and insurance policy details.

  • Document the Scene

Use your phone to take photos of the accident scene, vehicle damage, skid marks, road conditions, traffic signs, and any visible injuries. Write down the details of the accident, including the time, location, weather conditions, and how the accident occurred.

  • Notify the Rideshare Company

Inform your rideshare company about the accident through their app or emergency hotline. They will provide instructions on how to proceed and initiate their insurance process. Follow any specific instructions the rideshare company gave regarding the accident report and claims process, and be sure to take screenshots of where you were in the ride, your rideshare driver’s information, and any other app details if you were a passenger in an Uber or Lyft vehicle, in case the data is no longer available in your rideshare history during the investigation.

  • Seek Medical Attention

Adrenaline can mask pain and injuries immediately after an accident, so never assume you are okay. Even if you do not feel injured, it is advisable to seek medical attention to rule out hidden injuries. Keep detailed records of your medical evaluations, treatments, and prescribed medications. These records are crucial for insurance claims and potential legal action.

Consult our Midvale personal injury attorneys specializing in rideshare accidents. We can help you navigate the claims process, protect your rights, and ensure you receive fair compensation.


Contact Our Trusted Rideshare Accident and Injury Attorneys in Salt Lake City, Utah to Discuss Your Claim During a Free Consultation

Waddoups Law Personal Injury Attorneys has represented thousands of Utah clients, successfully obtaining settlements during negotiations and fighting for their rights and optimal outcomes in jury trials for more than 90 combined years.

If you have been hurt or lost a loved one in a rideshare accident caused by negligence anywhere in Utah, contact our Salt Lake City personal injury attorneys today to discuss your claim during a free consultation. We provide top-notch legal representation on a contingency basis and never recover any legal fees until we win your case. Even then, we promise our clients that their net settlement will be more than our legal fee recovery percentage because it is the right way to do business.